Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

restless - where to go and what to do 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

fuzzdoug

Mechanical
Jul 22, 2003
US
mainly just venting, but feel free to comment...

i just turned 33 and i'm a huge geek.
I have a BS in Engineering Physics.
I love doing FEA and design work.

i tend to follow my gut and never really had a plan or guided on any particular path. (ADHD? =b)
the other engineers i've worked with seem very...vanilla.
i can't talk to them and they look intimidated/confused when i try to talk to them.
i've tried some ME/MS programs, but i can't seem to stick to anything.
(Systems Engineering, Engineering Mechanics)
I feel like I need a masters to remain competitive and keep my edge.
It really bothers me that I don't have an "engineering accredited" degree.
Sometimes it's really a pain to have to explain what my degree is when I interview.
I've considered a PE, but tend to see less and less value in it.

I've toyed with the idea of just getting a ME/MS in Mechanical.
I love what I do, but the commute and pay is crap.
The company is also not doing so well.
layoffs and people quiting are adding a lot of stress.
it's pretty hostile as well.
I've looked for years, but I can't seem to get hired elsewhere.
i feel stuck and frustrated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Assuming you are in the US, since you mentioned "PE", you will need to have an accredited degree in order to take the exam. Given that, an ME/MS would make a lot of sense.

You seem to think the PE has no value. It will open a lot of doors that currently are closed to you, including being able to provide engineering services on your own. I would encourage it.

Any good at software? I was in my late 20's when I made that move.

Or if you like rapid project turnover and a steep learning curve, work for an engine consulting company. There are plenty of them any they seem recession-proof.

- Steve