Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Retaining Wall Lateral Load from Soils

Status
Not open for further replies.

hardyworld

Structural
Dec 27, 2006
US
I have limited experience/knowledge with geotechnical engineering, but here is a problem that I do not know how to approach to find the answer. I hope your collective wisdom can help:

I have a 10'-0" deep retaining wall designed in a natural clay soil with a K0=1. To reduce lateral loads applied to the retaining wall (reducing rebar requirements) I proposed that the area adjacent to the structure be filled with granular fill (CA-6 by Illinois DOT standards, I'm assuming K0=.27). The water table is far below the wall, so we are just assuming saturated soils for worst case conditions (gamma = 120 pcf for both materials). My question is how do you calculate the lateral soil loads applied on the wall? The lateral pressure applied by the clay soil onto the granular fill is easy to calculate. The lateral pressure applied by the granular fill on the wall is easy to calculate. But how the lateral load applied by the clay soil is then applied through the granular fill onto the wall is stumping me. The influence of the clay lateral loads will be dependent on the proximity to the wall (how wide the area of granular fill is), but I do not know how to account for this factor.

The way I am viewing the influence factor for the lateral clay loads applied to the wall, it has 2 major components acting through the granular fill between them:
1) Influence Stress Factor based on the proximity of the clay soils to the retaining wall (how wide the layer of granular fill is between them).
2) Unconfined factor due to the top of the granular fill being free to heave upward due to the lateral pressures applied by the clay.