Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

(reveiw) Hydraulic System with tandem center solinoid for control

Status
Not open for further replies.

Talo

Mechanical
Aug 3, 2008
US
hi i am fairly new to the hydraulic business and need to create a hydraulic lift that has warm up loop that also raises the lift at the speed i choose based on the power given to the pump. and lowers slowly with a regulator.

i made a schematic of the way i think it is supposed to be done.

here's the visio project in office 2007

also attached is the image of the same schematic.

getfile.aspx

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hey...

First off the flow control will be better between the direcional valve and the cylinder.

Secondly, are you sure about the transitional flow paths of the directional valve. I am not sure that there are valves that block all ports as the move from the normal position to the working position.

Because I am lazy and because it will help you to understand I suggest you research the following...

1) Counterbalance valves
2) Overcentre valves
3) Pilot operated check valves

All of the aboove will hold the load while the directional valve moves. The spool in the directional valve will allow oil from the cylinder to escape to tank as the it moves and the cylinder will drop slightly and there will be a noticeable bang as the valve moves. Any of the above valves will do what you need, but with varying degrees of success.

As you have drawn the system, any pressure generated at the flow control will be seen at the directional valve and the leakage across the spool could mean that the cylinder extends during the warm up.