Reverse osmosis permeate discharge pressure

Status
Not open for further replies.

giuman

Industrial
Apr 3, 2014
IT
Dear All,
I work in the water treatment field, especially in the design and construction of reverse osmosis skids.
I would like to know why the discharge pressure of permeate water from Reverse Osmosis is always 1 bar, or tipically near atmospheric pressure.
Also from literature is stated this condition, but I cannot find the reason why.

Thanks in advance
GM

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

My guess is this: A lot energy is required for the high pressures involved in RO. Any pressure in the permeate adds directly to the energy needed to create it. It's been found that 1 bar "is enough". Makers want their energy demands to be the lowest against competitors, any higher than the next company's and they're in a bad marketing position since energy is the biggest cost of running RO.

Keith Cress
kcress -

RO essentially works by increasing pressure one side and then the water leaks out of the membrane

Any pressure on the pure water side will impact on the operation.

Most of the time this water just goes into a tank - why do you need pressure?

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

Actually it can be any pressure you like, and many plants that are multi-stage use bigger feed pumps and permeate throttling on the first stage and no interstage boost pump. But any permeate pressure above atmospheric will require the same pressure added to the feed. It is not unusual to supply enough pressure to lift the permeate into a tank. But that extra lift means increasing the feed by the same extra head.

Two traps however.

If the RO plant is achieveing 75% recovery, every Gallon of permetae you produce and lift into that tank, will require you to lift the pressure on 1.33 galloons of feedwater.