Reverse osmosis pressure calculations

Status
Not open for further replies.

edobologna

Civil/Environmental
Sep 15, 2016
NL
Hello All,

I'm an energy engineering student and for my master's thesis I'm building a model to simulate an RO system which includes a high pressure pump driven directly by a wind turbine via hydraulic transmission, pressure vessels with 5 RO membranes and energy recovery device (positive displacement motor directly connected to the high pressure pump by shaft).

I know the following equation for pressures:

P_netdriving = P_feed - deltaP_hydraulicloss/2 - P_permeate - P_osmotic

and

deltaP_hydraulicloss = P_feed - P_concentrate

I can assume that P_permeate is atmospheric and can calculate the losses and P_osmotic, but if I have to calculate the feed and concentrate pressure how do I proceed? I found a model that assumed the net driving pressure to be zero in the last membrane but this means no water flows though it. Are any of these usually set values?

Thanks!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The quick answer is no.
You are correct in assuming that the last membrane is not at zero pressure. In fact there will be considerable pressure applied to the last membrane, with a considerable amount of pressure being dissipated by the concentrate control valve or used to drive the energy recovery device.
Those pressures depend on many things including:

1) Salinity of the water
2) Flux rate(flow rate through the membrane)
3) Type of membrane in use.
4) Degree of fouling/scaling

A number of the membrane manufacturers provide free membrane modelling programs that provide pretty useful information for what yooou are trying to do.
Here is a link to a popular program and its the one i use a lot.

Regards
Ashtree
"Any water can be made potable if you filter it through enough money"