Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Risa 3D to Floor; diaphragm and seismic loads

Status
Not open for further replies.

BoHboH

Structural
Jun 21, 2024
US
Good afternoon, new to posting so hope I do this correctly!

I have a building modeled in Risa 3D and am wanting to use Risa Floor to generate my seismic loads. I know I can't just import my Risa 3D model to Risa Floor, but is there a way to draw up the floor plans in Risa Floor with semi-flexible diaphragms, generate the loads, then just import those into Risa 3d model? Or import the semi-flexible diaphragms into Risa 3D then generate loads there? I'm new to Risa Floor so not sure what's possible.

I'm trying to avoid re-drawing this building in Risa Floor but really need to get the seismic loads applied to my Risa 3D model and I know Risa 3D only generates seismic when using rigid diaphragms (which this building does qualify for). I've read you can simulate semi-flexible diaphragms in Risa 3D with mesh plates but heard its difficult or very time consuming?

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Have you reached out to the people at Risa?

The cross platform design is one of their selling points. So yes there must be a way to use floor, and a semi-rigid diaphragm, to generate your seismic loads and import them back in. I haven't done it personally, so I'm not much help in terms of the process, but I do know that it's possible.

Risa.com has many tutorials for how to do things, and in my experience their technical help people have generally been responsive and knowledgable.

@jayrod12 yes I spoke to Risa about model transfer, they specifically said you cannot go from Risa 3D to Risa Floor, only from Floor to 3D. But, good point, I didn't ask them about drawing a diaphragm in Floor and bringing it into 3D, I will reach out to them thank you. They also said I could possibly go from 3D to Revit then to Floor so I might try that too.