Risa- (Boundary cond.)

Status
Not open for further replies.

palk7 EIT

Structural
May 12, 2020
US
Hi,
I am new to risa-2D and playing around with it, attached the image when the floor system is connected to the beam (connected via hangers) should I modify the boundary conditions at A,B,C as restrained in horizontal axis (roller) otherwise my deflection is very large for that horizontal load. The releases at the members start & end kept it as PIN-PIN (very large deflection), fix-fix(considerable defl.)

So my question is apart from fixing the bases as fixed, should there be horizontal restrain at A,B,C due to floor system?

Thank you!

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=ee007703-8bbe-42a5-b370-01e1837dea31&file=Scan001_(3).jpg
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

What is your lateral force resisting system? If it is intended on being this moment frame, then no, you cannot put a horizontal reaction there.

If the lateral system is shear walls or bracing or moment frames elsewhere intended on taking the horizontal load to the foundation, then yes you could consider having a reaction there. However your diaphragm would need to be designed accordingly.

Hi Jayrod12,

The moment frame (fixed connection) is not in this bay but is on the bay back of this. And this particular bay has a plwd. sheathed wood stud wall to the left of this frame.

Well again, if there is a competent lateral system including diaphragm, then you should be able to dump your lateral load into the diaphragm and then into the intended lateral system.

Since we (strangers on the web) aren't fully privy to all of the details of the structure, we can't speak in definitives.

If you have somewhere else for the lateral load to go, then I don't see the need to design for it.

What is the source of the lateral load you were applying to the frame?