Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Rock anchors for a bridge pier 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

VFF

Structural
Oct 27, 2005
AU
Reading previous posts, I have a situation where the anchor to rock interface is going to be OK, but may have a problem with the weight of the rock pullout cone providing enough stability.

I am drilling into basalt bedrock that is fairly solid. I am new to this field, so two stupid questions: i)Is the shear strength of the rock normally taken into account or just the dead weight? and ii) Given there will be a river flowing over these bridge piers, would it be typical to use a bouyant weight for the bedrock? What sort of fissures would be required to allow the water pressure to get in there?

Many thanks.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There are two publications of which I am aware that are available on the internet and address rock anchors as tiedowns. The first is Ground Anchors and Anchored Systems (Geotechnical Engineering Circular No. 4) from FHWA. It can be found at

The second is the US Army Corps of Engineers manual on Rock Foundations (EM 1110-1-2908). It can be found at

I do not typically include the shear strength of the rock along the surface of the cone. However, I am also usually dealing with fractured rock. The Corps indicates that for intact rock, you could consider the shear strength of the rock. For resistance calculations based on the unit weight of the rock, the Corps uses a factor of safety of 1.5. For all other resistance calculations, the Corps uses a factor of safety of 4.0, unless you have specific in-situ testing to justify a lower safety factor.

The FHWA manual says that for anchors in strong rock, the failure typically occurs at the tendon/grout interface.