Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

rock gravity retention wall question 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

evilscott

Mechanical
May 23, 2004
US
I am a mechanical engineer who obviously doesn't know jack about geotechnical engineering and have a home project that I'm looking for some seasoned advice. I built a house a few years back backically on the edge of a small plateau/hilly area. Growing up in an area where the biggest hill was a speed bump, I've gotten to learn about hills, slope stability (or the lack thereof, etc ...). I want to
build a tiered mortarless stone wall(s) and need some advice. Bascially, I have two questions

1) Spacing between consecutive walls
2) Better to cut into/disturb existing soil to lean the
stone wall into or to build and backfill as you go
(leaving the existing soil updisturbed)

Background
There is an drop-off/hilly section (I'll call the upper section) ~ 25 ft away from the house which is ~ 50ft long with a ~1/1.5 (vert/horz) slope for ~ 12 ft (7 ft vert drop for 12ft horz)then changes (I'll call the lower section) to 1/3 (vert/horz) over the next ~ 20 feet and then blends down to relative horizontal ground over ~ 30 ft. There is a very small grade from the house (I'll call the top) to the upper section and has grass coverage. The lower section also has grass coverage. The soil type is predominantly sandy.
At construction of the house 3.5 year ago, there was a heathly grade straight from the house throughout this entire area I'm describing above. I had soil brought in and graded to produce my current situation. Before the grass went in, I had some washout problems in a particular location of the upper section initially. I added silt fencing along the top edge of the upper section and this corrected that situation (as a "temporary" solution).