Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Role of Hypothesis Testing In Geotech Exploration 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

scottm8

Civil/Environmental
Jun 7, 2011
Hi,

I am a junior engineer working on a project for a public client and the EPA. The client is used to dealing with environmental data, contamination, remediation goals etc. Now that some soils testing is needed they are asking for data quality objectives (DQOs), a "geotech SAPP/QAPP", and limits for Type I/II decision errors to determine the number of geotech test. Not having a lot of experience, I am unsure how typical these practices are for geotechnical engineering. Seems like geotech testing is too expensive to select a "sample size" based on confidence intervals etc. The number of samples should be based on intuitive estimates of the expected variability in the soils and the different strata/parameters needed, correct?

What are your experiences/thoughts?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The investigation should be planned by a geotechnical engineer to identify the relavent geotechnical issues. The engineer selects the investigation methods, sampling intervals, etc. The owner can retain a geotechnical consultant to review the adequacy of the proposed investigation. If they owner does not know how to "deal" with the data then they probably shouldn't.

Thanks molerat! I agree. I think the basic question has more to do with assuring that quality data is obtained from money spent on the field investigation. In other words how can the geotechnical engineer quantifiably demonstrate that the needed information will be obtained other than saying "trust me I know what I'm doing".