Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

role of the structural engineer and career step 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alessia00

Structural
Jan 30, 2020
NL
Hello everyone,
I am an Italian student of structural and geotechnical engineering and I was wondering if anyone could help me better understand what will await me in the world of work.
After the master, I intend to do an internship and then to look for a job abroad, but still in Europe. But I was wondering what exactly awaits me.
What does the role of the trainee consist of? what are the various career steps and what is the role that I will have to play in each of them?
I have heard older and graduate colleagues saying that they are not satisfied with the work they have because they don't do calculations.
If I enrolled in this university it is precisely because finding a solution to problems through calculation is what I am most passionate about in the world. At first, I guess no one gives a trainee a responsibility of this caliber, but how long will I have to wait before seriously starting to design?
Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Student posts her not allowed. However, if your professors are not experienced out on the jobs, try consulting engineer company with your question. Most of them will welcome your questions.

Also of note, many of the people I graduated with from the structural program do many different things. Me personally and a few others are building consulting engineers. Others went the bridge route. Others went to work for the contractors. There are so many different options.