Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Rooftop Ductwork Structural Support

Status
Not open for further replies.

trence76

Structural
Nov 12, 2008
US
I'm a young structural engineer and I get alot of oddball projects. Latest project is providing support for a rather large, 6'-0" tall x 10'-0" wide cross section, ductwork running along the roof, with the bottom of the duct being approximately 3'-0" from the finished roof surface. The project started as a review, with the MEP engineer providing simple roof curbs parallel to and directly above the roof structure, specifically light steel beams at 7'-0" o.c.

My concerns include the lateral wind pressure against the duct and the uplift and suction pressures that may want to pull the ductwork off of the roof. While it is 18gage ductwork, it is not heavy enough to overcome or make me feel comfortable with the suction forces I am developing in my calculations. As a result, I feel positive attachment to the roof structure is going to be required. The problem is that I do not want to overdesign structural supports and I am looking for anyone's input, and or experience for these types of applications.

Thanks for taking the time to provide your input.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

You are very correct in your thinking here. The only adjustment you need to make, in my mind, is being concerned about over designing the structures. I would be far, far more concerned with under designing them. That's where the liability comes in here.

On more than one occasion, I had to use a section of far greater capacity than needed for reasons of section availablility, relative cost, connections, whatever.

Just CYA here. You'll do fine.

Mike McCann
MMC Engineering