RS232 communication through PLC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asrtarte228

Automotive
Nov 22, 2018
MT
Hi,

I require some help regarding RS232 communication using TIA portal v15, CPU 1511-1 PN and a CM PtP RS232 BA module. I am relatively new to PLC programming. Kindly refer to the links to SCL program block, Trace, Ladder and defined operands jpegs.

I am sending GPIB commands (like those defined in the txbuffer) to a Chroma LCR meter (shown in SCL block jpg) to acquire serial capacitance and resistance.
Both Rx and Tx LEDs on the PtP module flash on switching on the Start memory bit through LAD.

The chroma accepts all the commands and shows the serial capacitance and serial resistance accordingly. However the ones read through the receive block are different than the ones portrayed on the meter's display.

The trace shows the following:
- there is a sending command done (bSend), which is the trigger for the send block, and transmission done (txdone), which is the one bit from the send block, with every START positive edge - GOOD
- NDR is high on start up and remains True except when there is data running - this is supposed to be the other way round.

I am not sure what is happening with respect to data transmission. Error is false at receive block but status is 16#0096 (frame end identified based on expiration of the "Character delay time") which I do not know what it means.
What is 'dumped' in the buffer from the receive block (receivebuffer and tempbuffer) is shown in Cs and Rs (conversion in the block is being done) however really different from the LCR meter display..

Thanks in advance for your help

Trace link:
LAD Network link:

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I don't know anything about your particular hardware, but I've been tripped up on this sort of thing before because the bytes were reversed, big-endian, little-endian and all that.
John

Thank you John for your help.

This is the format in which the Chroma sends back the values: