Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Searching main source of coefficients in Roark's stress deflection formula for rectangular plate ? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mech research

Mechanical
Aug 1, 2020
CH
I am studying a case related to rectangular plates with uniformly distributed load, fixed at all four sides.
For stress, deflection calculation at the center of the plate by Roark's formula. Roark uses the coefficient according to a/b aspect ratio.
I tried to search for the references as called in Roark's book to get the main source of these coefficients (alfa, beta, beta1 for stress and deflection )but did not find any.
Could anyone share the document or screenshot, if someone has it?
Thanks in advance.

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=14e67a02-9e3e-4d55-a0aa-f6b285dcaf94&file=roark_formula_for_flat_plate.PNG
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Perhaps this Table 35 from Timoshenko? Provides moments vs stresses, and deflection is in terms of "D", flexural rigidity.
[wasn't able to upload the pdf, posting an image)

The data from Roark is usually heavily edited (three cases of a/b instead of fifteen)from Timoshenko in the interest of saving space. There's also a couple of typos that affect the results, although I'm not sure if it's from this case.
Even if someone gave you the screenshot, the explanation is important too.

Trying again with attachments. Maybe that wasn't an allowable edit to a post.
Tab_35_kal0ef.jpg

B.O.R Engineering Monograph No. 27. See column on the left, and illustration graph at the bottom left for the aspect ratio "a" and "b".