Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

[ SEATING FORCE FOR CONTROL VALVES ]

Status
Not open for further replies.

gguliye

Industrial
Apr 17, 2019
GB
Dear All,
I am completely new to the control valves and currently studying the control valve actuator sizing. May be my question is basic but i have found the following thing very suspicious.
The book says:
the direction of the seat load is in upward if the valve is push down to close. What I think is the opposite. Can someone clarify me on that point?
Regards,

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Qulu Quliyev (Industrial),
Please do not be hurt by my comments, My intent is to help you.
1: What does "Industrial" mean in your world?
2: What does "I am completely new to the control valves" mean?
3: What does "currently studying the control valve actuator sizing." mean?
4: What does "I have found the following thing very suspicious." mean?
5: What Book?
6: Why do you question the flow direction through a "Globe type Control Valve?

You will need to do more study on the many different types of valves that are used to "Control" fluids and gases. Just to name a few, there are; Globe Type Control Valves, Gate Type Control Valves, Butterfly Type Control Valves, Plug Type Control Valves, Ball Type Control Valves, Needle Type Control Valves, Pinch Type Control Valves, and so on and so on. They all tend to have the same function but they will each have unique, specific needs
Then there are the many different types of actuators. It goes on and on.

Go here for a place to start:

Sometimes its possible to do all the right things and still get bad results

QQ,

pennpiper makes some very good points.