Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Seeking advice on professional Catia training. 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

renatdavodov

Aerospace
Sep 1, 2014
GB
Dear all,

I am currently a University student and 3D design is my most favourite subject since college.
Unfortunatelly due to some circumstances in personal life I will be graduating with a 3rd class Degree, although on all design and manufacture modules I've scored 75%+.

Due to the 3rd grade Degree it will be hard to interest an employer giving me a graduate job and therefore I have several questions some of you might be able to answer:

* I am currently self learning to master Catia V5 as much as possible through available tutorials, but will the employer be interested in seeing a portfolio full of products from Catia which were designed with the help of tutorials?

* I've seen professional training available which teaches basics most of the time, at the cost of around £800. Would it still be worth doing to present any kind of certificates to an employer or just a waste of money?

* If you was (or you are now) an employer, what would you be surprised or glad to see from a perspective graduate employee to prove his passion and skills in design?

* Apart from actual Catia modelling skills, what other important aspects should be taken care of to form a full package?

* How important would learning to use FEA and CAD/CAM on a good level would be to an employer?

I understand obviously the more you learn the better but I would like someones advice from an industry to help me and guide me for a better outcome overall.

Thanks in advance to all and please share any tips/experience you might have.

Regards, Renat.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you