Seismic acceleration factor using IBC simplified method

Status
Not open for further replies.

vishkan

Structural
Jul 21, 2014
DE
Dear Experts,
I am pretty new to this structural engineering world, and now only i am facing real-world problems. I really need your helps and advises from your long term design experiences.
I am involved in a structural design of steel structure is build in the USA.
I just now involved in seismic analysis for my FEM model. According to the client information Ss = 2.51 g, and S1 = 0.654 g
with site class D.
I have followed the simplified method given in IBC using the equation.
V = 1.2 * Sds/ R * W;
From this equation 1.2 * Sds/R = Ah = acceleration factor.
This is the acceleration factor i give to my FEM program to calculate the horizontal seismic load.
According to the IBC standard, when i start to calculate the Sds;
Sds = 2/3 * Sms
Sms = Fa * Ss; Fa = 1.0 (for site class D) and Ss = 2.51
Then my Sds = 1.67,
then my Ah = 1.2 * 1.67/R ; here I have take the response modification factor according to the client concern as 3;
So finally i end up with Ah = 0.67 !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now i am asking my questions....
Can you believe this much of value for seismic acceleration factor? because when i calculate for my structure with the self-weight plus operational load with 12,000 kN , i end up with a seismic load around 8000 kN....
Because according to the equation V = Ah * W ; here W is effective seismic weight
so V = 0.67 * 12000 = around 8000 kN..
My kind question is, i am working in a German system with m,kg , s...
is there any role for this g in the seismic detail (2.51 g and 0.654 g)
I really did not consider the g.. the calculated values from US seismic data only for acceleration with ft/s2 ?
do we need any conversion?