Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Selecting a Molder / The Right Questions to Ask

Status
Not open for further replies.

Transient1

Mechanical
Jan 31, 2007
US
Without naming any names, I got a quote from someone that seems too good to be true. I am new to the plastic industry and this is a project I am working solo on. I have two questions:

1) Is there a forum with customer feedback somewhere?

2) What are the most important questions to ask the molder / how can I make sure I don't get burned ?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Inquire about the supplier with BBB.
Google the company and the principals.
Ask D&B (you will have to spend a few bucks to get your own outfit listed before they will tell you anything).

If you could post a redacted version of what the molder quoted on, and list the questions (s)he asked, or exceptions stated in the quote, we might be able to infer if you're talking to a competent molder.

Mike Halloran
Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

Some companies/industries have standard supplier questionnaires because they require suppliers to become approved and be added to a formal company list. In my experience they ask a lot of basic questions but by going through the process the answer becomes clear.

Some questions I've seen:
Quality Systems to which the company is registered?
Individual responsible for the Quality Assurance function?
Total number of company personnel:
Total number of production personnel:
Total number of QA inspection personnel?
Do you have a procedure for the control of new and existing customer drawings, specifications, and/or other PO requirements?
Are there procedures in place for purchasing and handling of customer orders?