Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Selection window in an assembly

Status
Not open for further replies.

cadcoke5

Mechanical
Aug 11, 2003
US
Is there a way to use a window to select multiple parts or sub-assemblies in an assembly?

It seems the AREA OPTIONS from the right-click menu has settings that allow you to choose between IN and ALL-IN, but when editing an assembly the IN option is ignored, and the ALL-IN option is always how a selection window behaves in an assembly.

Note that the IN and ALL-IN options work as expected when editing a 2D sketch, but are ignored when editing an assembly. I am not experienced enough to know for sure if the computers at my company are behaving normally in this behavior, or if some setting that is present in our installation is somehow overriding the ALL-In option.

A related question is if there is a way to only select top level parts or sub-assemblies. I-Deas currently defaults to selecting a sub-component of a sub-assembly. The end result is that I must always use the hirearchy window to select items. With over 500 parts in my assembly, that is both tiresome and prone to errors.

I am just starting to investigate the process of creating custom macros. I think this would be by using the "Open I-Deas" programming method. Is this viable for making a selection program that could create the equivalent of a IN selection window, and also filter to only choose top level parts and sub-assemblies.

Is what I want to do a viable way to proceed?

Joe Dunfee

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It seems I keep replying to my own questions. But, I wanted to let others who come across this message to see this.