Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SELF LEVELING SUSPENSIO I AUTOCROSS

Status
Not open for further replies.

golfpin

Automotive
Jul 15, 2009
ZA
HOPE THIS IS NOT TOO FAR OFF THE POINT,
WOULD ANYBODY CARE TO COMMENT ON THE FOLLOWING.
CIRCA 1982 THE AUSTIN 1100, NAMED THAT IN RSA, WAS LAUNCHED, I WAS AN APPRENTICE AT THE TIME ON THE FLOOR ABOVE US WAS THE BODY SHOP.
I NOTICED THAT THERE WAS AN ABNORMAL NUMBER OF THESE CARS WERE IN FOR REPAIRS TO THE REAR ENDS SEEMING TO INDICATE THAT THESE VEHICLES WERE STOPPING TOO QUICKLY FOR OTHER MAKES? THEY WERE EQUIPPED WITH THE HYDROLASTIC SUSPENSION. MY CURIOSITY WELL AND TRULY ROUSED I EVENTUALLY GOT MY HANDS ON ONE AND WENT FOR A "TEST DRIVE" AND TO MY SURPRISE THIS VEHICLE DID STOP ON A "TICKEY" MY DESCRIPTION OF THE EVENT WAS AKIN TO THE WHOLE VEHICLE SQUATTING IT LITERALLY JUST STOPPED. HENCE PERHAPS THE PLETHORA OF REAR ENDERS IN THE PANEL SHOP. PART OF THE SALES PITCH [PUN] WAS THE HYDRO WAS REFERRED TO AS SELF LEVELLING
THERE WAS NO DIVE, NO APPARENT BIAS TO THE FRONT IN TERMS OF DIVE OR LOCKING OF WHEELS, I HAD DONE QUITE A BIT OF COMPETITIVE DRIVING BY THIS TIME SO I THINK I HAD REASONABLE FEEL FOR THE CAR.
I KNOW COLIN CAMPBELL MADE MENTION OF IT IN HIS BOOK "AUTOMOBILE SUSPENSION" AND COOPER PLAYED WITH IT IN I THINK A FJ OR F3 HAVE DONE A BIT OF DESIGN WORK ON OFF ROAD VEHICLES BUT HAVE ALWAYS HAD THE HYDRO EXPERIENCE TUCKED AWAY IN THE GREY AREA. WONDER IF THIS HAS AN APPLICATION IN AUTO CROSS OR SIMILAR, ANYONE CARE TO COMMENT.
HOPE TO SEE SOME VERY ERUDITE POINTS/EXPLANATIONS.
CHEERS GOLFPIN

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi Golfpin,
I think your observations have merit.