Status
Not open for further replies.

engineer980

Electrical
Jun 25, 2019
SY
Separation Distance needed
I need your help

I have a project that includes data center beside two power transformers(1600KVA+2000KVA)

What is the minimum separation distance between this power station and data center

and what is the relevant standards?

Thank you very much

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I mean EMC standard not electrical isolation
because it will be induction currents from transformers to Data center + noise + transmit Emission

Seems to me that depends on how much hardening you've got in your data center; presumably, if your data center were in a Faraday cage, you could be as close as you want. barring getting people that close to do install or maintenance. You can arbitrarily harden equipment and wiring, people, not so much.

See for some numbers

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

Low frequency 50 HZ magnetic field will not be shielded in faraday cage because it is not transmitted field

i have two choices :
1- to shield: what is the specification to shield 50 hZ magnetic field
2- changing the data center place to 25m distance , is this separation space adequate?and what is the standard or code?

It's presumably very unlikely that EMI would be the deciding factor.

They should certainly be physically separated to contain and isolate failures, such as transformer explosions or fires.

Once there's a reasonable gap for practical and safety reasons, the EMI is almost certainly a non-issue.

WHy 2000KVA transformer + 1600 KVA 20/0.4v their magnetic fields with nominal currents 2887A

I think the magnetic field will be considerable in specific distance around the station or the transformers