Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Setup of Plate elements for correct span

Status
Not open for further replies.

tigerbob

Civil/Environmental
Dec 12, 2001
US
I'm working on a precast concrete box section and modeling it with Visual Analysis 4.0. I have limited experience with FEA, but understand the concepts of the loading, restraints, results, etc. for the limited work that I do. One question that I have is this:

If I have a box section that is 6'x6' (ID) with 6" walls, do I set my plate mesh to span 6'x6', or do I span them from the midspan of each wall. This would change my span to 6.5'x6.5'.

This issue is not as critical in this regard as it is wih product of larger spans and very heavy loads.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

For plate/shell elements used to define box sections, it is common practice to use the mid plane of the sections for the element geometry as this will give you approximately the correct MOI (Ixx etc) for the section. Using the outer dimensions would give you a higher MOI and thus lower than expected stresses which could result in incorrect assessment of the structure. If you're not sure then run a test case of a box section as a cantilever, say, that can be compared with a hand calculation of exact stresses to be expected.