Sewage Specific Gravity

Status
Not open for further replies.

weab

Structural
Jul 7, 2006
US
Hello,

I am a structural engineer trying to design a sewage holding tank in a seismic zone. I'd like to know the specific gravity of typical of the combined fluid with solids, not just the solids. This fluid would be pumped into a tank just outside the restroom of an underground mine. This tank will eventually be pumped out but might be close to full for periods of time. You can see that with a full tall tank in a seismic zone, the specific gravity is important.

I have searched all of my old text books and scoured the internet and found nothing significant, nothing that I'd bet my job on. I found informal forums like this that said 1.04 (yes with a zero), or a range 1.4-1.6. Even in eng-tips, I found only one such question from 2001 with a single response which said 1.02. So I figure the answer is likely somewhere between 1.02-1.60. I don't mind using the high number of a range, but I also don't want to unnecessarily overdesign seismic overturning loads by 50%. Even using 1.6, I have no firm backing/proof.

I am hoping that I can get several of you to give me a quick numeric answer that most agree on and tell me the source you got this from, textbook or website or whatever. I'll try to track it down myself to use in my calculations. Whatever help you can provide is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The issue is "Sewage" is a very vague term.

What sort of "solids"? Human excrement or something else?

So first look at what your sewage actually contains.

Can solid grit or dirt accumulate in your tank?

If not 1.05 sounds like a good number to me. Siimply based on logic

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

If it was all dried, compacted, solid, it would be 1.6.
I'd use that 1.02 as an average SG.
It floats, but not for long. SG<1