Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Shaft connection problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

oskari

Automotive
Feb 10, 2007
FI
Newbie here with a problem (I´m not sure if this forum is really for profs, but since there was a free entry...):

I have a 50 kW electric vehicle traction motor I´d like to use in my future ev conversion. The motor was originally attached to a special transmission, that´s why it has an unusual shaft with helical splines. It is hollow all the way to the other end of the motor. The shaft was propably a sun gear with planet gears around it:

This is propably the same motor, or very similar, with the original gearbox:

So, I´d like to use this motor with a normal ICE tranny (no clutch). What would be the best way to attach the motor shaft with the tranny shaft?

1.with a coupler with inner helical gears in the motor end
-expensive?
-is there a danger the helical gears will "push" the coupler off of the motor shaft (sorry my english) > axial force stresses the tranny shaft bearings?

2. freeze joint a coupler into the hollow motor shaft
-will it hold (max 200 Nm torque)

3. ??

Appreciate your help,
Oskari

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

2. The motor shaft wall is relatively thin. Any number of expansion type couplings could be made to grip the inside, but they would also be at risk of fracturing the shaft.

1.a. Yes, the helix angle would push a coupling off, or try to. In order to prevent that, I'd run a tie-bolt or two from the coupling through the motor shaft to a thick washer on the other end.