Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

sheet metal cut sheet layout

Status
Not open for further replies.

MesaH

Aerospace
Apr 7, 2011
US
I am fairly new to inventor, but have used Pro E (creo)
What I am trying find a way to do is to take a variety of sheet metal parts and layout the flat patterns for the parts in a way that can be exported to .dxf and fed into our plasma table. Currently I am creating an Inventor drawing (.idw) and adding flat pattern views of the parts I want and exporting that to AutoCAD and then positioning the parts. I don't like doing it this way because I am not very fast with AutoCAD, but more importantly every time something changes in Inventor I have to redo the AutoCAD layout. Ideally I would wait to do the AutoCAD layout until the design was finalized, but our office never seems to function like that. What I am hoping to find is a way to parametrically organize the flat pattern parts, either in a drawing file or a 3D assembly. I want to force the parts to be separated by .500" and then export that to AutoCAD where I will have to do minimal work to get it into the correct format for the plasma table.

Please let me know if there is a way to do this or a better method for setting up flat pattern cut sheets in Inventor

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Well.. obviously a proper "nesting" program is a much better solution.. Did your plasma table not include any software? I don't know why people spend all this money on a plasma/cnc turret press,etc.. then don't get the proper software for it.
Other than that.. Learn Autocad better.. Its a VERY simple program to do what you need out of it.. But if you do nesting quite often stop messing around and get a proper program..
Some are under 100 bucks.

Here are a few..

Depending on what version of inventor you use the directions could change but with 2013 and several before you can directly export DXFs.