Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Should I Choose Mechanical or Electrical? 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

gtferris91902

Jul 16, 2005
US
Hey everyone!

I am looking to gain some knowledge by asking this question on this forum with a multitude of experienced engineers.

I will keep my history brief as possible! I am 28 years old, have four years of experience in the USAF working with aircraft (I was a flight engineer) as well as 2 years working for a boat manufacturer as a design engineer using Unigraphics NX4. As a child, I have always been a "hands on" individual, loving to take things apart and figure out why they work the way they do.

I am now returning back to school after completing a B.S. in Aeronautics with minors in Safety and Business from Embry-Riddle (basically, a combo of business/light science). I will be considered an upper-level transfer since I already have my core engineering courses out of the way, so now the question arises...mechanical or electrical?

I ultimately would like to assist in the design of advanced aero-propulsion systems, but lack the field knowledge of how feasible this is in today's economy. So many people have told me "you can't go wrong with electrical..."

Is it true that EEs have more opportunity than MEs? I feel that my interests are most closely related to mechanical engineering, but I don't want to go down a path that will provide less opportunity.

I thank all in advance for your advice/comments!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Is it true that EEs have more opportunity than MEs?
EEs have more opportunity to do EE work. MEs have more opportunbity to do ME work. EEs are smarter because they work with stuff that blinks (just ask one).