Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Should low level engineers write programs for office use? 13

Status
Not open for further replies.

radice

Geotechnical
Jun 3, 2014
US
I am curious as to how much a low level engineer is expected to contribute to the company?

The issue at hand: I am a civil engineer with a P.E. and 10 years experience. I work at a small firm and am simply a staff engineer. Should I contribute programming skills to the firm in writing programs that can be used by all the engineering staff?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Is there a compelling reason not to?

TTFN
faq731-376
7ofakss

Need help writing a question or understanding a reply? forum1529

You have ten years experience and you wonder if you "should contribute"? Well let's put it like this - your employer is actually your customer. You make him happy and he'll come back for more. The more valuable you are to him the more secure your job is, and the more likely you are to be considered for promotion. The sooner you start seeing yourself as more than "just a staff engineer", as you put it, the sooner you will be more. If you have skills that would be of value to your employer, find a good way to use them! I don't understand why you would even hesitate! Is it some office politics, or turf protection thing?

I think we are missing the point. The issue is of copyright. Should a low level engineer provide programming that in effect becomes property of the company?

If he is being paid by the company to write the programs, then yes, it is the property of the company.

However, if he writes it on his own time, it is not.

Mike McCann
MMC Engineering

The reason we missed the point is because you did such a stellar job of making your point.

Most employment agreements for engineers have a clause outlining the disposition of intellectual property generated by your work assignments. This would fall under that agreement.