Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Shrinkage analysis 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

slickdeals

Structural
Apr 8, 2006
US
Folks,
I need to study the shrinkage of a box girder and associated restraint forces. I have never done one before and I am unable to figure out a good starting point?

Can anyone give me good pointers? Design examples etc.?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Basically you need one formula to account for shrinkage in concrete and creating loss in prestressing force. WInyter Nilson has agood book on it, prestress concrete by W&N

I am doing a temperature, creep and shrinkage analysis of a precast prestressed girder right now. What I have done is calculated a temperature variation that can be modelled simply as a temperature load, I then calculate the expected free movement from shrinkage and creep and covert this to an equivalent temperature load. I have a 18000mm girder (20') and the free shrinkage from creep and shrinkage is approximately 10mm (4") from 4 months to 30 years (erection of the precast members occurs after 4 months).

The restraint for my situation is a elastomeric bearing which I have modelled as a spring restraint. If you don't allow adequate movement, the built up stressed from these parameters will be very large.

@asixth,
I am trying to do a similar process to yours. I am trying to compute a shrinkage strain and use that as a coefficient of thermal expansion and use a 1 degree temperature gradient to compute the restraint forces.