SI engine port design

Status
Not open for further replies.

pary07

Automotive
Jun 13, 2017
DE
Hi everyone.
I am new to this form and I am currently doing my master thesis on design of engine ports for a single cylinder engine. I am trying to find sources that can explain me the design factors and limitations of port design. In my case, it's a sngle cylinder engine with 2 valve. For the port orientation, I am in consideration of cross -flow port and a 90° port flow configuration. I am unable to find sources or papers that can explain this port configuration and the benfits and limitations of the same. I also plan to do CFD simulations to optimize the port. I would be really glad if anyone can help me in finding information of this type of port configuration

Thanks

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Have you read Heywood and/or Taylor? Beyond those introductory texts there are many thousands of papers and books on simulation and design of combustion systems, Gordon Blair authored several good ones.

Be aware if you haven't worked in combustion development that this is a rather deep rabbit hole of a subject, ports typically aren't "optimized" by themselves but as part of the entire combustion system to produce a desired in-cylinder motion and charge mixing in conjunction with the piston, valvetrain, and induction system as a whole.

You might consider, instead of starting with a clean sheet of paper, of finding some kind of foundational work within your own institution, or if necessary, outside, to build on. Typically research projects don't reach a final goal, but just move the ball down the field some distance. Rich sources for prior work will be SAE, ASME, and NASA (which, when it was NACA and during the aero piston engine development era, produced reams of worthwhile fundamental and practical studies on every riciprocating engine topic you could imagine).

"Schiefgehen wird, was schiefgehen kann" - das Murphygesetz