Not open for further replies.

APIpipeWholesaler

Materials
Jul 26, 2012
US
API 45th edition calls out a wall tolerance on page 145 table J.4

it simply states

wall tolerance + - 0,7 (0.028)t

should I do a calculation here based upon my given wall to come up with a wall tolerance? If so what is the calculation?

OR

Is it my wall + or - .028

BTW my wall is .375 and pipe diameter is 16" HFW

Thanks in advance,

-=Fred=-

Vass Pipe API Line Pipe Industry Leader

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Not for HFW pipe; the SMLS pipe tolerance shows what would have been written if there was a calculation to be done in the second and third rows, compared with the first row:
pipe_bwbydq.png

However, the HFW pipe section shows no inclusion of the pipe wall thickness, so it's an absolute tolerance:
pipe2_b6qrx3.png

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

API SPECIFICATION 5L (45th edition) page 145 table J.4 I think self explanatory.

wall_thick_tolerance_ueynsg.png

Tolerances defined as a percentage of t ( t is specified wall thick.) ,for SMLS pipe having wall thickness t > 4mm or 0.157 in.
Pls look to the notes a,b,c,d for additional restrictions.

The OP clearly states he has HFW pipe.

Those tolerances are absolute numbers not percent of t.

Remember - More details = better answers
Also: If you get a response it's polite to respond to it.

Yes, but as quoted, t convention is only given for SMLS. He has HFE, so those are absolute.

Dont fight about it. The answer is more than clear.

Reality used to affect the way we thought. Now we somehow believe that what we think affects reality.

First off I apologize, I stated 45th ed. read wall tolerance + - 0,7 (0.028)t

When in fact 45th ed. did NOT have a t for HFW pipe.

So given the response above... that being absolute ... .236 to .591 wall would carry a tolerance of + or - .028

ie; .236 would calculate to + or - 11.8%