Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Simple Cantilever Beam Equation 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

dfowler

Mechanical
Sep 27, 2003
US
I am a mechanical engineer who seems to be a bit out of practice with my old statics and physics equations. The company I work for builds garage doors and we have an aluminum extruded strip that runs the length of the bottom of each garage door. This strip has a trough that allows us to attach our astragal which is a vinyl flap that helps seal out light and moisture from under the door. We want to rollform a shape out of steel to replace the extruded aluminum astragal retainer. The side profile of the part would be roughly a 'Z' shape with the bottom holding the vinyl astragal and the top protruding and acting as a step to help close the garage door when done manually.
I am wondering if a .034" thick 45ksi steel shape that protrudes 1.25" would permanently deflect when a person weighing 200 lbs steps on it. I think this is a fairly basic cantilever beam calculation but unfortunately I have forgotten most of that. This is a cantilever beam that protrudes 1.25" long and is .034" thick with a width of 6 to 20 feet. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Yes it will bend. For a beam with one end fixed and one end free, a load on the end produces a bending moment of P * L or in this case 250 inch pounds. The deflection equation is M * L^3 / (2 * E * I ). E for steel is 30E6, for aluminum is 10.2E6. L could be the length of a shoe - 10" or so or 3" if just the toe. I would be then be 3 * (0.034)^2 / 12. The stress is equal to M * C / I, where C is 0.034 / 2. I have ot worked out the numbers but I will check yours when you post them!!