Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Simple procedure to perform limit load and elastic-plastic analysis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mm.Kaiser

Mechanical
Nov 1, 2011
IR
Dear friends,
I use elastic stress method to perform finite element analysis with Ansys (calculating mem and bending stresses) but i want to use limit load and elastic-plastic analysis too.
I read asme2 part5 more and more but i have a lot of doubt in my knowledge for these methods.
Can anyone tell me step by step simple procedure to perform these methods with Ansys?
(Note that i want to analyze 3D assembly of quick opening closure made from linear elastic steel that have some frictional contacts)
Thanks a lot

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

This is not an analysis that you want to try as a start to elastic-plastic analysis. The contact aspects make for very "interesting" aspects for an elastic-plastic analysis. I will give you the same advice that I have dished out repeated on eng-tips: either get a mentor or hire a very experienced and skilled consultant to "teach" you.

As a first question: do you understand what is meant by all of the various failure modes described in Part 5? Have you purchased and reviewed ASME PTB-1?

Dear TGS4,

I didn't bye that mentioned book and just read the ordinary standard and use my fundamental science of engineering to understand what that means. so it is possible that i didn't understand the exact concept of failure modes. It is why that i asked you in this post.

I have worked in pressure vessel field since 8 years ago and a lots of my designs according to elastic analysis were working well in industries without any problems.