Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Simulation softwares

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ahmedaoso

Chemical
Nov 15, 2007
SA
I am a new process engineer in feild of refinery and i need other experienced process engineer to tell me what is the the most helpfull simulation softwares that i'll need it in my work and plz tell me if it is for free or payied with any avaliable links
thank u

These are some good simulation programs. All have some license fees associated with them.

BR&E's ProMax: Contains the old TSWEET simulation engine. Especially good for amine units, but it can do a whole oil refinery or gas plant.

AspenTech of course offers both Hysys and AspenPlus now: Both are powerful, widely used simulators.

Sulsim is a good sulfur plant simulator:
ProTreat is another amine and gas plant simulator, but I think it can do other processes too. Never actually used it, but the Sulsim guys offer it too:

WinSim at is a simulation program. Vertual Materials group has a good one too.

There are a lot of little free programs that help get you get a rough idea and will assist you in getting solutions faster in the big commercial programs.

Huntsman Chemicals ha QuickTreat. The old Hanover now Exterran had QuickSize. Lots more out there, plus, just write your own in Excel.

For different purpose there is different softwares packages like ASPEN Plus 2006 is good simulation software for columns/hydraulics apart from that HTRI is very good for heat exchangers /fin fan coolers/fired heaters rating/simuation/design purpose , KBC-Petrosim is also good for regorous refinery wide simulation along with hydrotreaters etc. where reaction kinetics is involved, TSweet is very good for sulfur plant.

Thanks...