Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Single Phase Bridgeport 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

swall

Materials
Sep 30, 2003
US
I am a hobby machinist and have a Series 1 Bridgeport.Yesterday, I toasted my rotary phase converter. Before I spend $500 on a new one, I'd like to look at the possibility of replacing the Bridgeport three phase motors with single phase 220v motors.Has anybody done this?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I've seen it done but don't know how it was accomplished.
I was going to purchase a surplus Bridgeport from our company but couldn't get the 3 Phase power needed. I'm only 800' away from a power company source.

You might post your question in the "Electric Motors & Controls Engineering Forum" for answer.

There are several Phase Converters on eBay suitable for running a Bridgeport. Starting at $82 and can be bought now, so no bidding needed.

Uncle Syd--I had the option of getting 3 phase from the power company, as I am only 80' away from a 3 phase line.But it was cost prohibitive.They wanted $1000 to run the lines to my shop. Then they told me I would not be allowed to retain single phase service, so more costs would have been incurred for inside re-wiring and three phase panels. And finally, three phase service costs 17% more than single phase.

swall
That is essentially the reason I didn't go that route, cost.
They made no mention of only one service as my shop is on a separate service from the house. My electrical engineering buddies at work talked about the cheaper operation on 3-Phase though I'm thinking a 17% surcharge would mitigate any savings.

I think I had better see if I can find out how the drive for the Bridgeport was converted.

Does Bridgeport make a single phase drive?

Swall,