Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Single phase electric motor 500Hz noise 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

noisun

Mechanical
May 29, 2003
CH
I'm studying the airborne noise emitted by a single-phase small (less than 100W) electric motor for dishwasher machines.
It is a 2 poles motor with capacitor connected to an auxiliary (2 poles) winding very similar to the main winding (capacitor and auxiliary winding are always connected during motor running).
Geometrically, main and auxiliary winding has an 90 degrees angle (their directions are perpendicular).
On stator stack( 25mm height), there are 24 slots;
on rotor (squirrel cage, same height, 51mm diameter), there are 32 slots.

OK, the problem is:
noise (microphone) meas put in evidence a sound pressure peak at EXACTLY 500 Hz, when the motor is supplied at 50 Hz (no load, whatever voltage, 115V or 230V).
The same motor supplied at 60Hz DOESN'T produce any relevant sound pressure peak at 500 or 600Hz (no load, whatever voltage, 115V or 230V).
In my opinion it’s an electric noise (not related to structure resonances or to mechanical orders), but my competence in electrical harmonics is rather low…

Why 50Hz frequency produces such an evident sound peak?

Thank you in advance for whatever input.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Silly question - can you hear this noise yourself? I ask this as you can often get mains hum in the instrumentation itself. OK, that doesn't explain why 60 Hz doesn't produce it.

Next question - how good is your 50 Hz power supply? Check its harmonic content. (Statement of the obvious - be careful, you are dealing with mains voltages)

Cheers

Greg Locock