Single pump control via VSD from multiple PID's... 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pocko

Electrical
Mar 5, 2003
AU
Hello All,

This is going to be a bit long winded, but I'll try to give as much information as possible!! I'm a humble electrician and I've have been placed in a plant and have been asked to look at making some process modifications to more efficiently control our pumps. The place has been poorly engineered from conception and we have no engineers on site to run these things by, so I'd like to get some opinions and input from you all on a few ideas we have thrown about.

Our batching plant has 26 underground tanks and 26 4kw induction motors directly coupled to the pumps. Each pump sends its product through its own 2" pipe into the plant and there is a tee-off point at each mix tank and then the pipes are dead ended. This is our main problem - no return line to the feed tanks (and no we can't even contemplate puttting them in due many restriants). Each line has a non-return near the pump, and a differential pressure switch downstream from the non returns.

The bulk of the product is pumped into 10000 litre large mix tanks, however (and this is the awkward part arises), we also have hand filling stations from which we take 20-1000 litres at a time from. Currently the product pipes are run at a pressure of around 400kPa during filling - not real nice when you are trying to get 20 litres out into a drum! The hand filling is done via 1" petrol pump bowser type handles/hoses. The only good part about the bowser set up is the fact there is a switch at each that triggers the pumps to start when a a hose is taken out of its cradle. This switch could be useful down the track.