Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Sizing water meters 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Siteplanman

Civil/Environmental
Mar 12, 2003
US
As a site engineer, I often use rule of thumb to size water meters. It is based on building sizes & uses. For instance, smaller retail shops often require a 3/4" or 1" domestic water meter. A restaurant or larger anchor may need a 2" meter. This rule of thumb works well when there are time constraints; more time (& money) would allow me to run hydraulic models on all water distribution systems. My question is: does anyone have a rule of thumb for master meters that will serve larger developments (say a major anchor, a dozen small shops, a couple of restaurants)?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

There are no rules of thumb for sizing water meters, they are size on flow and flow alone. There are plenty of books out there that allow you to properly estimate flow and size meters based upon that calculation.

If you are using rules of thumb, it is costing you unknow amounts of revenue becaue of poor meter efficiencies.

Sorry for the harsh truth, but you are not the only one that has sized meters that way and I find it sommon practice and I always try to inform people.

BobPE

i have found that in sizing of water meters, you have to be aware of flow and demands. Residential serivces (3/4") typically have a 5/8" meter. That not a rule of thumb, but a fact. Most meters fail in favour of the user (reading low) so the type of meter to be used is important. Here are some rules of thumb, which work fine, but are not definitive.

1) Typically, the meter size (nominal diameter) is one size smaller than the service pipe.