Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Sketch Angular Dim and Origin (Super Basic)

Status
Not open for further replies.

catiaUSR

Aerospace
Apr 9, 2014
US
Hi guys

This is my first time using Creo Parametric (and I'm using 6.0 apparently).

Within a .sec file I have created the attached sketch. My first question is: where the heck is the origin? When you create a sketch within a part file it gives you one but I don't see it when creating a .sec file. So here, instead, I've just stuck two construction line together.

Now, I'm trying to create angular dimensions between [1] the two lines that position the slotted hole and [2] the horizontal construction line that I have (this would be kind of the reverse to the dimensions it auto-gave me). I'm selecting the Dimension button then selecting one of the lines and then the other... and nothing happens. Am I doing something wrong?

If you need me to make a video or annotate the screenshot let me know and I'll get on it.

Thanks

https://files.engineering.com/getfile.aspx?folder=ab4af9e4-2b97-4cf4-acb2-60f44458f484&file=basic_sketch.PNG
Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Pro/E is super anal about selecting things, I suspect you need to hold the control key down while selecting those two lines and then place the dim with the middle button but I've never used that version.

----------------------------------------

The Help for this program was created in Windows Help format, which depends on a feature that isn't included in this version of Windows.

Ah, gracias, dgallup, that got me on the right path.