Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Small Project Sequence 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

UofAGrad

Structural
Apr 16, 2013
US
Hey Guys,

Long time reader first time poster, I love this site.

I'm a structural engineer working for a large company, I've done a handful of jobs on the side and plan to start my own small engineering firm to do some moonlighting this year. The work I have done is small structures that require county permits: solar panel structures, wood decks, etc... A high level view of how I usually operate is I meet with the client, agree on a concept sketch (sometimes they already have one), perform the structural analysis, draft. I seem to always spend time back forth at some point in the design that I see as wasted time, usually during the drafting phase. My question is, what advice can you give to expedite the engineering/design process?

Thanks in advance

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

given the scope of the projects, i.e. residential, some level of back and forth is to be expected. Even though you've agreed upon a concept in person, people change their minds more than their underwear. Factor that into your fees.

For a small project, it's probably cost prohibitive to do a 3-D model in PDS Frameworks and present it to the client before extracting drawings.

I've found the best way to define a project is a well written scope. But you are going to get comments on the IFA no matter what.