Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Snow Melt in Concrete Pavement

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtstruct

Structural
Aug 2, 2012
CA
I am looking at adding a hydronic snow melt system to concrete pavement. Any recommendations for design guidance? Typically I would design the pavement using the PCA, Thickness Design for Concrete Highway and Street Pavements.

Any guidance is greatly appreciated!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The radiant installers are great at providing details/feedback in regards to the snow melt, but have not provided any industry guidance in regards to reinforcing/jointing requirements for the concrete slab design itself.

I'm in Hawaii, so I have no experience with these systems, but as a guy responsible for concrete mix design and quality control, I'd be concerned about the potential for curling due to temperature differential between the bottom and top of the slab.

We frequently see a 40-50 degree top to bottom temperature differential in a concrete pavement during the summertime. Do you expect something more than that?

Tom...I don't know if the winter temperature gradient would be greater than the summertime gradient because a number of variables are in play. I expect there would be a large difference between what temperature must the bottom of the pavement be heated to thaw the surface when them ambient temperature is 25° (small gradient) vs. if the ambient temperature is -40° (large gradient), and the slab thickness would also make a significant difference. Other factors that contribute to curling may accentuate the problem in summer or winter, or they may moderate the effect of temperature alone. If your winters are cold enough, the winter differentials certainly could be greater than summer.