Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Solenoid control

Status
Not open for further replies.

StanleySmith

Electrical
Jun 4, 2005
US
hey guys, I'm new in the field and I'm running into this basic problem that's giving a headache.
I got a pneumatic slide that's supposed to go up and down. It's controlled by a double sol, 2 position (I'm pretty sure that's the type of valve on the machine now). The valve power is tied to a safety relay's output. For safety issue, when the gate's opened, the output of the relay drop and so is power to the valve. This does not stop the slide from moving instantaneously; but the slide stops when it's either fully up or down. I think the problem's it's a 2 position valve. Am I on right??? I think I should use a double, 3 position.

Thanks,
Stan

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

How far away from the solenoid valve is the actuator? Is there enough stored energy in the line beyond the valve to account for the continued motion? The valve can only control air flow through it - it can't affect what has already gone through.

Are you switching inlet or exhaust air?

Have you leak-tested the valve at working pressure?

----------------------------------
image.php
Sometimes I only open my mouth to swap feet...

3-position, spring return to center, closed center valve. It will stop your cylinder about as fast as anything, allowing for residual air pressure in the system.

Ed

Sounds like a double detented valve and when you have it in estop the mechanism should not move. I believe that the way it is now is correct for safety. Since the valve is stuck (by the mechanism of the detented) under estop this is ok for safety reasons.