Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Solid Edge References

Status
Not open for further replies.

BillS01

Mechanical
Dec 7, 2010
US
We are migrating one our divisions that use Solid Edge from their network drive into our PDM System (SolidWorks Enterprise PDM). I have very little knowledge with Solid Edge and hoping that someone might be able to help answer some questions.

1. The first issue I am running into is duplicate named files. We do not want to allow this in our PDM system so the first thought was we will rename all the duplicate files and they will need to rename and relink them when they run into them. Not the prettiest but it was an option until I realize what the cfg files where used for. I am guessing that if I rename the assembly and the cfg file the assembly will no longer be able to find the cfg file and create a new one when the assembly is opened. Is that a correct assumption?
2. Is there a method or tool that Solid Edge has that finds missing or renamed reference?

I know the correct way to handle this would be fixing all the duplicate names up front but because of the amount of duplicates along with the time frame to get them in this is not an option.
Thanks in advance for any help that you can provide.

Bill

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

BillStadler - talk to Solid Edge they have utilities for searching data sets for some of these issues to support their own PDM systems. Some of them may even auto fix some issues though I forget details.