Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

SolidWorks 2007 to Catia V5

Status
Not open for further replies.

bluesman0007

Mechanical
May 21, 2003
US
I searched the forum and didn't find exactly what I was looking for. I have been using SW for about five years now and an opportunity came up for someone with SW experience to work with Catia V5. How much of a transition would this be? It's a chance to broaden my skills but is it going to cause a lot of stress and frustration in the process. Just looking for others that may have made the move, pros and cons.

Thanks,

Dennis

SolidWorks 2007 SP3.0
Windows XP Pro, Pentium4 3.00GHz
1GB RAM, Nvidia FX500
Logitech Marble Mouse, CadMan

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I haven't used Catia, but I wouldn't be concerned about learning V5. From what I've heard, V5 is much more like SWX than V4. When Ford started moving away from I-DEAS to Catia V5, one of the people I worked with was told that it would be easier for people who knew I-DEAS to learn Catia V5 than it would be for people who knew Catia V4. Needless to say, there is a significant difference between Catia releases.

I went from using I-DEAS to using SWX and found the transition quite painless. If the V5 user interface actually is much more like that of the midrange solid modelers you shouldn't have any trouble, particularly if you really want to learn V5.

I worked with Catia before switching to SolidWorks and as far as Im concerned, SolidWorks is easier to work with, more user friendly - I worked with Catia for one year. Everything looks alike at a first glance, but for me SW is just more of a complete product ( kind of an upgrade ).