Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Eng-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Solution Monitor Issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

jste88

Mechanical
Feb 2, 2011
US
could someone help me with an issue I am having in the solution monitor during an attempt at a solution? I am relatively new to Nastran and am just trying to figure out how to work different solvers. I am trying an advanced nonlinear solution in ADVNL 601,106 and once I start my solution, about 20 seconds in the following message pops up:

*** USER INFORMATION MESSAGE 7362 (DOIT)
THE COMPLETE ISHELL COMMAND IS: "C:\Program files\UGS\NX 7.5\nxnastran\bin\nxna.bat" 0 3 0 0 0 0 4000 1 1 0 -1.......

Nothing happens after that until about 5 to 10 minutes later and the Solution Monitor says the job is finished and in the job information file there is a fatal error which tells me "Memory allocation of 32000000 words is not sufficient.

Any help would be great!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

It seems like you are not allocating enough memory...
Are you using memory=estimate or fixed memory allocation, memory=1Gb?

Just try to use the maximum possible for your machine, for MSC.Nastran 2007 on Windows XP I use memory=7.9Gb but if this is the same for NX.Nastran I don't know.

Hey Thank you for the post. I am now using fixed memory allocation and have switched my application over to where I am now just using NLstatic106 but I am now getting the following error:

*** USER INFORMATION MESSAGE 6447 (SITDR2)
ITERATIVE SOLVER DIAGNOSTIC OUTPUT
EPS : 1.0000000E-06
BIC PRECONDITIONING
M/SHELL Query Message
----------------------------------------------------------------------
| Reference | Branch | Subprogram | Start Date: 00.00.**/00:00:00 |
| Level | Number | Name | Elapsed Time: 0.00 sec |