Some Legal Advice 3

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kishan Yadav

Civil/Environmental
Nov 12, 2021
US
So I will give you guys a quick run down,
We are a structural firm and provide CAD drawings for the foundation , floors and roof.

5 Years back we had done a project for a client .
Today we get an email from a lawyer demanding calculations from that project . There is no written or verbal agreement with the client when the project was submitted 5 years back.
What is the legal advice here ? Are we bound to provide them the calculation ?

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

I'm not a lawyer, but from all the television shows I watch, you're not legally required to do anything without a court order (subpoena, warrant, etc.).
Now if your contract required that you deliver calculations, it's not going to be hard for the lawyer to get a court order. And then it's going to look like you have something to hide. Plus there's an expense involved, which might burn your bridges with your old client.

There was no contract to begin with , Is there any law the requires us to provide calculation to the client regardless there was an agreement or not ?

Kishan Yadav:
The best legal advice here is..., get yourself an attorney. That is really a “quick run down” and probably needs a little more fleshing out, before the whole story starts to suggest a proper line of action. Attorneys don’t usually send emails as a means of showing they really mean business, from a legal standpoint. Was there any mention of a reason for a pending cause of action, what was that, and what might that action be?