Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

sonic flow in nozzle 1

Status
Not open for further replies.

siriusengineer

Mechanical
Nov 27, 2002
US
Hi,

I am a new engineer working on a derivation for maximum flow of a gas in a nozzle.

API RP 520, Pt. I, Para. 4.3.2.1 gives the equation for max flow to be

W=C*A*P*sqrt(T/M)

I've left out the correction factors for back pressure, non-ideal flow, and compressibility of a non-ideal gas.
Now I've been able to start with a tank of initial pressure and temperature, Po and To, and get to the following equation on my own.

W=Po*A*[(M/Ru/To)(k(2/(k+1))^((k+1)/(k-1))]^1/2

M being molecular weight, and Ru the universal gas constant.
Now the term C in the first equation is given as

C=520*[(k(2/(k+1))^((k+1)/(k-1))]^1/2

which makes the first equation almost match up with mine except for the 520 term, and the universal gas constant in my equation.

My question is this. Where did this C term come from and what are its units?

After putting in 1545.35 ft*lbf/lbmol/R for Ru and converting all the units to make sure W came out in lbm/s my term for C instead of being 520 would be 0.1443

A big thank you for any help on this.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

The fastest flow velocity you can have in a converging nozzle is sonic (Mach 1). Once the flow becomes sonic, the mass flow rate scales linearly with pressure, according to Fliegner's formula (which is only good for Mach 1 flow). If you can't find Fliegner's formula in your fluids references, let me know, and I'll type it out.