Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

Sonnet Suite: HF Electromagnetic Software...

Status
Not open for further replies.

toulouse

Electrical
Jan 29, 2003
BR
Hi all !

I would like to know if someone as some experiencies with Sonnet Suite software ? Is it easy to learn/use ? Is it accurate ? What about PCB radiations simulations ?

My purpose is to use it for microstrip antennas, PCB radiations and planar analysis...

Thanks,
[pc3]

Thomas K.

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

Hi,

I've had some experience simulating planar microwave circuits using Sonnet.

It is fairly easy to learn and use, and is accurate for the most part.

While I have used Sonnet, I'm particularly fond of another software package called IE3D. IE3D's user interface is not as user-friendly as Sonnet's, but gives excellent results.

To perform the electromagnetic simulations, both programs allow you to specify the different layers of your geometry, including the relative permittivity and loss tangent, etc. Then you draw your geometry onto the circuit and assign it metalization parameters such as conductivity.

Once this is done, the program divides up the circuit into smaller "cells" and enters them into a large matrix. Simulating the circuit involves solving this matrix.

Sonnet's downfall is that all of its cells must be rectangular, and equally spaced across your circuit. So, if you're simulating curved microstriplines, some error would be introduced because your circuit would have square edges. To alleviate this problem you would need to increase the number of cells, and thus increase the calculation time.