Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Sorting out noisy signals 4

Status
Not open for further replies.

Danielsp

Civil/Environmental
Apr 5, 2018
BR
I am a Civil Engineer who's just started in the field, so please bear with me here. It's quite simple stuff.

How can we separate different frequencies in a signal in such a way that the information modulated into a given frequency is preserved? I mean, if you use a passband filter around a target frequency, you average out many wave cycles of that frequency and all the information stored there is lost.

At least that's what happens with a FIR filter (I've tried) and I suppose IIR filters would have the same effect. So, is there a different kind of frequency filter that keeps modulation intact? I tried a PLL as well but the net effect is pretty much the same. How is that problem solved in real life?

Thanks in advance!

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

"if you use a passband filter around a target frequency, you average out many wave cycles of that frequency and all the information stored there is lost. "

This is not true; otherwise, FM radios wouldn't exist.

A bandpass filter that just gets your carrier and modulation through is what you should be designing to.

TTFN (ta ta for now)
I can do absolutely anything. I'm an expert! faq731-376 forum1529 Entire Forum list

Shannon and others formulated that a long time ago. It is about band-width of your filter. Modulation causes sidebands. Simple in AM and somewhat more complex in FM.
There is a limit to signal contents and carrier frequency. Your filter, however steep, sets the limit for upper modulation frequency.
A practical application is in AM radios. Google superheterodyn, intermediate frequency and band-width.

Gunnar Englund
--------------------------------------
Half full - Half empty? I don't mind. It's what in it that counts.

Thank you, IRstuff and Skogsgurra!