Eng-Tips is the largest engineering community on the Internet

Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

• Congratulations waross on being selected by the Tek-Tips community for having the most helpful posts in the forums last week. Way to Go!

spec for fast machine for running wildfire 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

DAVE77

Mechanical
Sep 23, 2005
GB
Hello,
I have been using Pro-E wildfire 2 for 2 years now and I have been asked to get a good spec together for a new machine for myself.

Can you give me a list of the spec you would recommend including graphics card etc(I am running 2 screens)

Thanks

DS

Replies continue below

Recommended for you

We just had a new machine built and got a P4 3.4, 2GB RAM, SATA drives, etc. We got a Quadro graphics card for it (I don't remeber the specific model). For processor, I would be looking at the new Intel processors, they have been benchmarking very well. Graphics cards: At our firm, we have always used gaming cards with very good luck. They are consistantly less expensive and for the work we do (complex surfacing, plastic products, and assemblies smaller the 100pcs), they work great. I just got a nVidia 6800 GT for home and it works very well and doesn't have the window limitations that nVidia used to have. My experience has been, however, that nVidia cards seem to work better with Pro/E than ATI cards (in the couple of cards I've used).

Good luck.

------------
Jason Williams
K Development, Inc.

If you haven't already checked the hardware support section of PTC's website then check here for some examples.

Dual Monitor Support