Intelligent Work Forums for Engineering Professionals

Special Inspections Standard of Care

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr Inspector

Civil/Environmental
May 25, 2020
US
I've been a special inspector and construction engineering project manager for about 14 years. I've struggled in my career because of the thoroughness of my inspections. The contractors don't like it and don't want me to put deviations in my reports. The contractors perception is the deviations make them look bad to the project owner. The contractors a lot of times directly ask me not to list the inspections in my reports.

What I've encountered is, the special inspection/geotechnical firms keep business coming in, or increase their volume of work, by building relationships with the contractors. They sweep deviations under the rug by not listing them in the reports. Entire projects are inspected with very few or no deviations. The contractors in a lot of cases have first contact with the owner before the special inspection firm does, and typically recommend a special inspection firm to the owner. If a special inspection firm was easy to work with (i.e. if they weren't too hard on them), the contractor will recommend them to the owner.